School News

President Buhari Sacks JAMB Registrar, NECO Boss And 15 Other Officials- See The Newly Appointed Teams Here

The Federal Government has announced the sacking of chief executives of 17 parastatals and agencies under the Ministry of Education.

The government’s announcement was contained in a statement issued on Monday night by the Deputy Director of Press and Public Relations in the Education Ministry, Ben Bem Goong.

Four Chief Executives whose tenures were yet to elapse were however retained, while others including the Registrar and Chief Executive of the Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board, Prof Dibu Ojerinde were relieved of their appointments.

The statement said the appointments were with immediate effect, precisely from Monday, August 01, 2016.

The 17 agencies affected in the mass sack and the new Chief Executives appointed included the National Universities Commission, Prof Abubakar Adamu Rasheed; Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration, Prof, Mrs. Lilian Salami; Universal Basic Education, Dr. Hameed Bobboyi and National Library of Nigeria, Prof. Lanre Aina.

Others are National Examinations Council, Prof Charles Uwakwe; National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education, Prof Abba Aladu and Nomadic Education Commission, Prof Bashir Usman.

Also appointed are National Business and Technical Examinations Board, Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe; Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria, Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye; Computer Registration Council of Nigeria, Afolabi Aderinto and National Commission for Colleges of Education, Prof Bappah Aliyu.

The new appointees also included Tertiary Education Trust Fund, Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa; National Teachers Institute, Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare; Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria, Prof Michael Afolabi; and National Mathematical Centre, Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah.

The Secretary-General, Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs in Nigeria, Prof Ishaq Oloyede has been named Registrar/Chief Executive of JAMB, while the National Institute of Nigerian Languages has Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche as its CEO.

Those retained included the Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council, Prof. Samaila Junaidu; Nigerian French Language CVillage, Prof Rauf Adebisi; National Board for Technical Education, Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure and National Arabic Language Village, Prof. Muhammad Mu’az.

The new appointees are expected to report at the office of the Education Minister on Tuesday, August 02, 2016 by 12:00 noon for inauguration.

Ojerinde ran into trouble with the Minister following the way he handled the ongoing 2016 admission into universities and other tertiary institutions.


The newly appointed Jamb registrar, Professor Is-haq Oloyede was the Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin, from October, 2007 and was also the Chairman Committee of Vice-Chancellors (CVC) from 2011 to 2012. He was until January, 2011, the president of Association of African universities (AAU). Prof. Oloyede have received several accolades for his good work towards the enhancement of Nigeria educational sector.

Other wonderful and highly privileged positions held by Prof. Is-haq Oloyede are as follows:

Prof. Oloyede served as the board of many reputable university organisations. He was the Chairman, Committee of Directors of Academic planning in Nigerian Universities – 2002 to 2004.

The newly appointed Jamb registrar was until his voluntary resignation in 2011, the President of the Association of African Universities (a position he relinquished to pave way for another Nigerian-the immediate vice-chancellor of NOUN)- to assume office as the CEO/Secretary General of the association.

Try This:-  AFIT Postgraduate Admission Form for 2019/2020 Academic Session

Head Admin

Naij Arena Scholarship Blog (, is an online blog for the latest news, information and resources about finance, business, education and scholarship opportunities.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Human Verification *

Back to top button